February 2017

February 24, 2017
Anthony Bartolomeo, Chariman of the CEE Industry Advisory Board, is the recipient of 2017 ASCE OPAL Award for Management. The award recognizing senior managers of engineering organizations will be presented to him at the ASCE OPAL Gala on March 16, 2017, in Arlington, VA. For more information please see

January 2017

January 24, 2017
Hyungjoo Choi, EIT presented his research on 'Reliability-Based Fatigue Assessment of Tube-to-Transverse Plate Attachments in Highway Sign Support Structures' at the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Annual Meeting held January 8-12, 2017 in Washington, D.C. Hyungjoo is a PhD student conducting his research work under the direction of Dr. Husam Najm.
January 24, 2017
Dr. Xiang Liu won the Outstanding Contribution Award from TRB Committee on Transportation of Hazardous Materials (AT040) in 2016. The purpose of this award is to formally recognize outstanding achievement in hazardous materials transportation research, innovation, regulation, or management. The selection is based on recent publication in the area of hazardous materials transportation. 
January 24, 2017
Experts in coastal climate-related risk and resilience from across Rutgers have successfully teamed to win a $3 million grant from the National Science Foundation to provide graduate students with training in developing and conducting both basic and applied research addressing real-world challenges. The Institute of Earth, Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences will administer the grant.

December 2016

September 2016

September 26, 2016
A bridge structural assessment tool developed by a team led by Franklin Moon, professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Rutgers University-New Brunswick, has been selected by the American Society of Civil Engineers to receive the 2017 Charles Pankow Award for Innovation.

April 2016

April 26, 2016
Franklin Moon joins the School of Engineering at Rutgers University as professor of civil and environmental engineering. A leader in infrastructure performance and vulnerability, he has particular expertise in sensing technologies, structural identification, structural health monitoring, numerical modeling, and estimation of service life.
April 6, 2016
John Palus and Jeff Spalt, co-founders of Dynamic Engineering Consultants, along with their colleagues and fellow SoE graduates, Brett Skapinetz and Joe Jaworski, are making meaningful contributions to their alma mater and having fun doing it! The four recently established the Dynamic Engineering Scholarship for civil engineering student scholarships, established through a $25,000 gift. In addtion, the firm regularly employs CEE students as interns and participate at on-campus events, including mustering a team to participate in the cardboard canoe races during EWeek.

February 2016

February 9, 2016
In a First, ASCE Members to Choose From Two Women for 2017 President-Elect. Read more>>    
February 9, 2016
In December 2015, the Rutgers North American Society for Trenchless Technology (NASTT) student chapter, took a field trip to a natural gas main join sealing project. The Cast Iron Sealing Robot (CISBOT) is the latest technology in improving the lifetime of cast iron pipe networks. NASTT Co-Founder George Ragula and PSE&G’s Sergey Wortman-Vyan led students into the field to see one of the three currently operating CISBOT set up and work on a Camden, New Jersey project.